The fourth stage of the 2020 BinckBank Tour will take place on 3 September between Blankenberge and Ardooie. The stage has grown into a classic feature of the Belgian-Dutch UCI WorldTour stage race.

Both Ardooie and Blankenberge have a rich history in the only UCI WorldTour stage race in the low countries and will continue to feature in the future. The BinckBank Tour organisers have reached an three-year agreement with Ardooie to continue hosting stage finishes, while Blankenberge will continue to be a host city for the next two years.

"We are extremely pleased to be able to agree long-term deal with both host cities," said race director Rob Discart of Golazo sports. "This provides us with continuity. The stage between Blankenberge and Ardooie has been delivering a high-level race for years with great winners. The BinckBank Tour also attracted a sea of people at the start in Blankenberge and became a true celebration of cycling in the streets of Ardooie. Ardooie is a fabulous example of how local organisers manage to build bridges between the city council, its citizens and the local economy."

Ardooi mayor Karlos Callens is also pleased with the new agreement: "Our goal is to lift the image of Ardooie and its business sector through the BinckBank Tour and that's a continued success." That enthusiasm is shared by Blankenberge mayor Daphné Dumery: "Cycling is a sport that appeals to all generations. It is great that Blankenberge will continue to host the race as a family-friendly seaside resort. The BinckBank Tour is not just an important event for tourists and spectators, but also for its citizens, who show a great interest in the event year on year."


The stage between Blankenberge and Ardooie has been a regular fixture on the programme since 2016. With winners like Peter Sagan (2x), Jasper Stuyven and Sam Bennett only the best riders manage to win there. Ardooie has a fierce reputation for its bunch sprints with fellow winners also including Tom Boonen, Tyler Farrar, Andre Greipel, Arnaud Demare and Nacer Bouhanni. In total Ardooie hosted twelve finishes in the BinckBank Tour, with at least three more to come.

This year the start of the BinckBank Tour takes place in the north of the Netherlands. Dokkum, one of the eleven cities of Friesland, will host both the start and the finish of the first stage on Monday 31 August, following the team presentation the night before. The BinckBank Tour ends on Sunday 6 September.

2008: stage 4: Terneuzen-Ardooie, Tom Boonen wins bunch sprint
2008: stage 5: Ardooie-Oostende, Carlo Westphal wins bunch sprint
2009: stage 1: Aalter-Ardooie, Tyler Farrar wins bunch sprint
2009: stage 2: Ardooie-Brussel, Tyler Farrar wins bunch sprint
2010: stage 2: Ruchphen-Ardooie, André Greipel wins bunch sprint
2011: stage 2: Aalter-Ardooie, André Greipel wins bunch sprint
2012: stage 6: Ardooie-Ardooie, Svein Tuft wins individual time trial
2013: stage 1: Koksijde-Ardooie, Mark Renshaw wins after late attack
2013: stage 2: Ardooie-Vorst, Arnaud Démare wins bunch sprint
2014: stage 4: Koksijde-Ardooie, Nacer Bouhanni wins bunch sprint
2015: stage 3: Beveren-Ardooie, Tom Boonen wins bunch sprint
2016: stage 3: Blankenberge-Ardooie, Peter Sagan wins bunch sprint
2017: stage 3: Blankenberge-Ardooie, Peter Sagan wins bunch sprint
2018: stage 4: Blankenberge-Ardooie, Jasper Stuyven wins after late attack
2019: stage 2: Blankenberge-Ardooie, Sam Bennett wins bunch sprint